How to Delete Google Search History on Android/iPhone

Every search you ever make on Google is saved in its history. The history is used by Google to provide personalized experiences to you and can also be retrieved anytime if you need it. But due to privacy concerns, most users prefer to delete Google search history. Clearing Google search history is also helpful when Chrome or other Goggle service becomes unresponsive. If you are also wondering how to delete Google search history on android/ iPhone, this article has all the answers you might be looking for.

Delete Google Search History on Android and iPhone

Google not only offers its users simple ways to delete history but also the flexibility and freedom to delete a specific activity, or delete search history from a specific day, date range, or all time. Here’s how you can use the features of Google to delete search history in a customized manner.

  • Open the Google app in your device and tap your Profile picture or name initials.
  • Click on Search history and select the Search history you want to delete
  • Google provides you the following choices:
  • All your Search history: Above your history, tap Delete Down arrow and then Delete all time.
  • A specific time period: Above your history, tap Delete Down arrow and then Delete custom range.
  • A specific day: Next to the day, tap Delete all activity from [select day].
  • A specific activity: Next to the activity, tap Delete activity item.

Important note:

  1. Once the history is deleted from Google account, it cannot be restored.
  2. It is possible to add an extra verification step to view your full history for more security.

Delete Google Search History on Android

Now that you know about specific delete options and other important features of Google history, check out how to delete Google search history on Android.

  • Open the Google Chrome app on your Android device.
  • You will see the More option (three vertical dots) at the top right corner of the page.
  • Tap More and select History.
  • If the address bar is at the bottom, swipe up on the address bar and tap History.
  • Click on Clear browsing data option present at the top of the page.
  • Next to time range, select the portion of time for which you want to delete your history.
  • Check the box next to browsing history and make sure other boxes are unchecked (if you do not want to accidentally delete other data).
  • Tap Clear data.

Delete recent search queries in the Google app

If you want to delete search queries instead of history, you can do so quite easily but the queries will also be deleted from My Activity. If you want to proceed with deleting Google search queries, follow the steps given below.

  • Click on the Google search bar on your Android phone.
  • If Google search bar is not found, you can open the Google app.
  • Touch and hold the recent query and select Delete.
  • Sometimes when Google Search is not be able to delete queries, it can always be done by the Google app.

Delete Google Search History on iPhone

Just like Android, Google history can be deleted from iPhone with the great ease. You can delete complete history or select the time range for which you want the history to be deleted. Follow the instructions given below to delete Google search history on iPhone.

  • Open the Google Chrome app on your iPhone or iPad.
  • You will see the More option (three vertical dots) at the top right corner of the page.
  • Click on Clear browsing data option present at the bottom of the page.
  • Check the box next to browsing history and make sure other boxes are unchecked (if you do not want to accidentally delete other data).
  • Tap on Clear Browsing Data and then on Clear Browsing Data again.
  • At the top right corner, tap Done to successfully delete the

How to delete Google search history automatically?

You can set up your Google account for automatic history deletion. Even after setting history to auto-delete, you can still manually delete the history at any time. Here are the steps to setup auto-delete Google search history in android/ iPhone.

  • Open the Google app in your device.
  • At the top right, tap your Profile picture or name initials.
  • Click on Search history and click Controls.
  • On the Web & App Activity card, tap Auto-delete.
  • Follow the instructions on the screen.

Problems in Deleting Google Search history

A few issues might arise while deleting Google search history in iPhone or Android. This includes your deleted history showing in ‘My Activity’ or deleted history being shown in the search bar list. In case you face these issues, here’s how you can troubleshoot them.

Deleted history showing in My Activity

In case your deleted history is still showing in the My Activity of another device, here’s how you can fix this:

  • Make sure your device is connected to the internet because the chances are that it isn’t. Once your device is connected to internet, your history will no longer be reflected.
  • Try clearing cache and cookies to fix this issue.

Google search bar showing deleted history

In case the Google app you are signed out off has its Search customization turned on, the search bar in that specific app might show the deleted history. To fix this, you need to turn Search customization off. Here are given the steps for the same.

  • On your Android phone or iPhone, open the Google app.
  • Click on your Profile picture or name initials at the top right corner.
  • Then go to Settings and then to General.
  • Go to Search customization and turn off Search customization.

How to Delete Google activity history in Android/ iPhone

While using Google sites, apps or any other services, some of the activities are saved in the Google Account. To delete this activity and stop it from saving anytime later, follow the instructions given below.

  • On your Android phone or iPhone, go to myactivity.google.com.
  • Above your activity, tap Delete and select All time.
  • Click on Next and select Delete.
  • If you want to delete individual activity items, scroll down to your activity.
  • Find the item you want to delete and then click Delete.

Leave a Comment