Don’t want a Gmail address anymore? Follow the steps to close your Gmail account permanently
Gmail consists of all the advanced features and tools that an ideal e-mail service should have. However, if you don’t find it useful anymore or you have multiple Gmail accounts then you can delete them permanently. It is a very simple and straightforward method to delete a Gmail Account permanently but before deleting the Gmail Account you should know the consequences.
Thankfully, Google provides a method by which a user can delete a Gmail account with having to purge complete Google account. It means you can still use other services associated with your Gmail such as YouTube, Facebook even after deleting your Gmail address. In this post, we will provide you a simple step by step procedure to delete a Gmail Account.
Things to consider before deleting a Gmail Account
Before you delete your Gmail account permanently there are a few things that you should consider.
- Do take a Backup of all your Gmail messages: Before you remove your Gmail account permanently, it is highly recommended that you should take a backup of all your email for any future requirement.
- Deleting your Gmail Account won’t release your username: If you delete your Gmail account, no user (including you) will ever be able to get the same username. So, it is recommended not to remove your gmail account if you want the same username you are currently using.
- Deleting your Gmail doesn’t mean you are deleting your Google account: Gmail is just a service of Google, in case you delete your Gmail account, you would still be able to use Google account for various other services such as Youtube, Facebook etc.
- Make sure to remove the Gmail address from other accounts: It is possible that your gmail address might be linked with your social media or bank account. Make sure to remove or change your gmail address from such accounts before deleting it permanently.
- Export Gmail Contacts: In case you are switching to any other email account then you should export your Gmail contacts so that you can use them in the other email account.
Steps to Delete a Gmail Account permanently
Follow the steps mentioned below in order to delete your gmail account effortlessly.
- First of all, go to Google Account Setting.
- Then under Account preferences, click on “Delete your account or services”.
- Now, click on “Delete Products”.
Note: In case you want to delete your complete Google account then you should select “Google Account and Data”. This will remove your entire Google account including Google docs, search history, Ad sense, Ad words etc.
- Choose the Gmail account to be deleted.
- Now you have to enter your Gmail Password.
- In case you have Google 2-step verification enabled then you need to enter verification code as well.
- Click on “Next” after entering the password.
- Click on the trashcan icon appearing next to your Gmail address.
- Then Gmail will prompt you to enter a different or secondary email address in “How’ll you sign in to Google”. In case you have already entered a secondary address while creating the Gmail account then Google will enter it automatically.
- Click on send verification Email.
- After you click on send verification email, Google will send a verification email on the secondary email account linked with your Gmail.
- Open the secondary email account and click on the deletion confirmation link. Enter the password of your Gmail account to be deleted if prompted.
- Click on “Yes, I want to delete permanently” under the confirmation and Click on “Delete” once again.
- Finally, click on “Done”.
Note: The above-mentioned process will permanently delete your Email messages. Please make sure to download your email data before deleting your account.
That’s it, now you have successfully deleted your Gmail account.
What will happen to an Email sent to a Deleted Gmail Account?
Well, in case any person tries to mail you on your deleted Gmail address then he/she will receive a delivery failure message. That’s why it is recommended that you should provide an alternate email address to your contacts before deleting the account.
Can I recover a deleted Gmail Account?
If you have deleted your Gmail Account and want to recover it, then you have to act fast because a deleted Gmail Account can be recovered in a maximum of two business days. However, a deleted Google account can be recovered within 2 to 3 weeks.